Food For Read

eating animals
I came across Eating Animals a few years ago but refused to read it, or anything for that matter, that had the propensity to separate me from chicken.  *feeling the side-eyes*  Don’t judge.  My thought was that I already had a limited diet as I rarely consumed pork or beef and adamantly refused to eat any processed meat.  Since I was very conscious about consuming nutritious meals, working out regularly and was the picture of health, couldn’t I just have my lean chicken breast and seafood?!?  C’mon son.

Fast forward 3 years – we’re mostlegans (mostly vegan) and the book and I crossed paths again. This time I dove in.  After beginning the read, I pondered how interesting the timing given the number of reports this week regarding our seafood.  No need for spoiler alerts here, but I will say INFORMATIVE  and NECESSARY! Some things I knew; other information rendered me speechless and nauseated.

This is not a clarion call for you to become vegan.  Though I can say that I will probably never have another bite of chicken, I can’t say that I will go the rest of my life without sticking my spoon into a pint of Blue Bell ice cream.  Hell, I could probably say the exact opposite!  I mean, have you ever had Blue Bell ice cream?!?!  And no, soy ice cream has yet to hit the same spot Blue Bell does.

I digress.  This is a call to read the book.  It is imperative that we are completely knowledgable about what we are consuming – antibiotics, hormones and all.  Hmmmm…tasty!

Have you read Eating Animals?  If so, share your thoughts.
What books that discuss factory farming and the food industry do you recommend?
-nah
7 thoughts on “Food For Read

  1. I read it not too long ago and became a vegetarian for a while because of it. I am a really huge animal lover and the things he informs you about and the way he does it, especially in regards to cruelty of animals, I couldn’t look at a piece of meat without feeling sick. The information he shares about the treatment of cattle and pigs is a horrendous reality check, chickens I felt to be the worst. I didn’t eat meat for about 6 months or so, but it gradually worked its way back into my diet. I have low iron originally, and the lack of meat protein had me feeling completely drained. Iron pills I would just pee out and they also made me feel nauseous. When I’m cooking chicken or ground beef I remember where it truly comes from and how, or when I read “Free Run” on an egg carton I know it hardly means they weren’t treated cruelly. Sigh. I completely respect vegetarianism and wish I could stick with it. The book is incredible in how truthful it is, and it opens your eyes to how marketing makes most people think that all animals are stationed in very large, vast, plush green fields. Have you ever read the book Skinny Bitch? Same kind of theme but less emphasis on animal treatment and more emphasis on health.

    • Yeah, I can’t look at a piece of chicken without thinking about…well, you know. I, too, used to have anemia issues but I may be consuming sufficient rice to keep my iron levels regular.

      I have not read Skinny Bitch, but will check it out. Thanks for the book recommendation! The hardest part in refusing meat comes when traveling internationally and wanting to taste different cuisine. However, so many other cultures embrace their vegetarians that their restaurants usually offer several vegetarian options. Have you watched the documentaries “Food Inc.” or “Forks Over Knives?”

      Thanks for stopping by lady! Have a wonderful weekend:)

      • Skinny Bitch is packed with lots of info on vegetarianism and veganism, but is one of those books you can finish in 2 days tops. It’s written with attitude… if you do read it let me know what you think! I haven’t seen either of those documentaries. Are they… graphic?

      • I sure will! The aforementioned documentaries aren’t graphic. “Forks Over Knives” discusses plant-based diets and some of the inconsistencies with what we’ve been taught regarding the food pyramid. It also follows several people with chronic health issues and their journey through a plant-based diet to healing. “Food Inc.” does enlighten the viewer about the ills of factory farming, more so with crops, but doesn’t show nearly the graphic scenes discussed in Eating Animals.

  2. So my mostlegan friend, since I’m about 1 year off of leisure reading what did the book say about seafood? When I gave up beef (i’m already off the bird) a couple of years ago due to fibroids I felt great! Especially after the fibroids left. But since I love a good burger and steak i went back. *hangs head* I already know pork is bad for the body but you’ll have to pry the bacon from my cold dead hands! I have “Wheatbelly” on my list of must reads as soon as i get the time but I already know that wheat/gluten and I are not friends. i just want to know WHY we don’t get along any more.

Leave a Reply

