Pad Thai

When we moved to Chicago, I was a bit concerned for my waistline and our budget when we discovered a Thai restaurant a block from our home.  Dangerous.  Whenever we visit my parents in California, Pad Thai, Gang Dang and spring rolls await our arrival.  That’s how deep my love for Thai food runs.  However, while having perfected their curry dishes, our new neighborhood Thai restaurant continually serves an undesirable Pad Thai.  Very surprising given that Pad Thai is a staple in Thai cuisine.  It’s so unsatisfying that the last few times we’ve ordered Thai food we’ve done so without the pad thai, which is just absurd!  While in between meetings last week, my cousin and I ducked into Noodles & Company for a quick bite to eat.   It’s uncharacteristic of me to order a specific regional cuisine from a non-specific restaurant, but since my Pad Thai cravings have been left unsatisfied, tofu Pad Thai is what I quickly ordered with my cousin ordering the chicken Pad Thai.

And so, to date, the best Pad Thai I’ve had in Chicago was created in the kitchen at Noodles & Company.

tofu pad thaiphoto courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

tofu pad thai
photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

chicken pad thaiphoto courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

chicken pad thai
photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

Have you had any recent restaurant disappointments?

-nah

Leave a Reply

