For Good

Happy Monday!  Full disclosure – I love Broadway musicals!!! LOVE!!!  One of my favorites is Wicked.  Each time I hear the song For Good, I am moved to tears.  There are a few powerful messages expressed in this song; two of which being knowing a person has changed you for the good, and learning that your presence in someone else’s life has changed them for the good.  In a lifetime, we have innumerable encounters with others.  Many have absolutely no effect on our lives, some have the ability to change us for the worse and others change us for the good…for good.  As we enter Thanksgiving week, I encourage each of us to reflect on those who have changed us for the good who you may have never acknowledged.  Take time this week to share with them your immense gratitude.

For your listening enjoyment . . . For Good.

For Good

(Glinda):I’ve heard it said
That people come into our lives for a reason
Bringing something we must learn
And we are led
To those who help us most to grow
If we let them
And we help them in return
Well, I don’t know if I believe that’s true
But I know I’m who I am today
Because I knew you…
Like a comet pulled from orbit
As it passes a sun
Like a stream that meets a boulder
Halfway through the wood
Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better?
But because I knew youI have been changed for good
(Elphaba):It well may be
That we will never meet againIn this lifetime
So let me say before we part
So much of me
Is made from what I learned from you
You’ll be with me
Like a handprint on my heart
And now whatever way our stories end
I know you have re-written mine
By being my friend…
Like a ship blown from its mooring
By a wind off the sea
Like a seed dropped by a skybird
In a distant wood
Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better?
But because I knew you
(Glinda):Because I knew you
(Both):I have been changed for good
(Elphaba):And just to clear the air
I ask forgiveness
For the things I’ve done you blame me for
(Glinda):But then, I guess we know
There’s blame to share
(Both):And none of it seems to matter anymore
(Glinda):Like a comet pulled from orbit
As it passes a sun
Like a stream that meets a boulder
Halfway through the wood
(Elphaba):Like a ship blown from its mooring
By a wind off the sea
Like a seed dropped by a bird in the wood
(Both):Who can say if I’ve been
Changed for the better?
I do believe I have been
Changed for the better
(Glinda):And because I knew you…
(Elphaba):Because I knew you…
(Both):Because I knew you…
I have been changed for good…

Who has changed you for the good?

-nah

Leave a Reply

