My First Photoshoot

Asha Santee
photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

A few weeks ago, Asha Santee commissioned me to photograph her collection of art pieces for her forthcoming art website.  Though I was beyond excited for the opportunity to showcase my photography skills and play with my camera, admittedly I was also trepidatious because those skills are limited and I understood the enormity of the trust being placed on me.  That fell by the wayside as soon as we set up at our first location.  Not only was I inspired by her artwork, but the creativity that flowed between us led to a fantastic shoot.  We scoured each location to find its intricate natural beauty to serve as perfect backdrops for her pieces.

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

painted wood chips
photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

She doesn’t limit her works of art to canvas, but also uses wood and vintage records as a nod to her love for music.  Her artwork is best described in this quote by a recent purchaser:

We all need a place to go in our minds more than we do physically. I think your art can do that.
It immediately took me back to safer days in my mind.
Younger days and healthier days when music really meant something.
And the love you have for it shows on every piece. I can totally relate…

Trying to survive in this maze called life and finding that thing you love that keeps you motivated.
Music is that universal love and healer. It speaks everybody’s language…true chicken soup for the soul…
that is what I felt when I looked at your pieces.”
-JoAnna

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

Asha Santee is not just an artist.  Renaissance woman encapsulates the true spirit of this woman.  From musician to clothing designer . . .

to drum instructor . . .

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

to artist…

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

Asha loves life.

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

The art website is forthcoming.  However, check out her clothing line, Note 2 Self, Inc., and music.  Her clothes will make great stocking stuffers or gifts for the upcoming holidays!  Like her Note 2 Self, Inc. Facebook page and follow her on twitter @Note2SelfInc.

Update:
Art website here!

Please leave comments about Asha’s artwork and clothing line below.  

-nah
p.s. – We’re beyond blessed to call her our cousin.

4 thoughts on “My First Photoshoot

  1. I AM HIGHLY IMPRESSED BY AYANNA’S FIIIIRRRRSSSTTTT PHOTOSHOOT. I AM WRITING IN ALL CAPS BECAUSE YES I AM SCREAMING THIS PRAISE TO THE TOPS OF MY LUNGS!!! NOT ONLY AM I GLAD THAT I TRUSTED HER FOR THIS HUGE PROJECT….I AM GLAD THAT SHE TRUSTED HERSELF!!!! LETS CONTINUE TO CONTINUE!!! LOVE YOU MUCH!!!!

Leave a Reply

