Growth

Happy Monday! It is our very nature to desire growth in us and around us with the passing of time.  Are you growing in those areas you truly desire? Do you sometimes reflect and while celebrating some of your accomplishments realize there are a few areas in which growth isn’t being demonstrated?  Maybe it’s just me.  I ran across a definition of growth that resonated with me.

growth – recognizing the value of doing what you hate

I would add that growth also recognizes the value of doing what you fear.  If I’m honest with myself, the lack of growth in some areas of my life is because I allow a hate (or rather a disdain) and/or fear of certain tasks to serve as obstacles.  I believe that what we hate and what we fear stand in the way of realizing our visions.  We’d rather temporarily appease ourselves with completing comfortable tasks.  So what, I ask, do we choose to commit ourselves to when we don’t complete those tasks that we hate or fear?

Tell me what you are committed to, and I’ll tell you what you will be in twenty years.
We become whatever we are committed to.
~The Purpose Driven Life, Rick Warren

Are the things you commit to doing in lieu of tackling that which you hate or fear what you want to become?  Will that please you twenty years from now?  In order to grow, we must develop a boldness and commit ourselves to doing those things we hate and facing those tasks we fear that stand in the way of our now and our harvest season of growth.  What I’ve also learned is that those tasks really aren’t as hated or fearful as we allow our minds to make them.

In what area of your life would you like to see growth before the end of the year?

-nah

P.S. – Our thoughts are with everyone on the East Coast affected by Hurricane Sandy.

Leave a Reply

