Hunt For October

I know, I know, we’re three days into the month so the hunt is over.  Right?  Nope.  There are several dozen men who are still hunting to partake in what some consider to be the best part of October – the World Series.  I’m excited because my two hometown teams are still in the hunt.  No, not the Cubs and White Sox.  The Athletics of Oakland and my beloved Giants of San Francisco! The excitement this has generated in my hometown is overflowing on my social media news feeds.  As we Bay Area folks root each team on, undoubtedly more for one than the other, we are hoping for another Battle of the Bay World Series.  This frenzy also dusts off memories of the last time the Bay was swept up in this same excitement 23 years ago.  In October 1989, the Giants and A’s did make it to the World Series.  Just before game 3, an earthquake measuring 6.9 on the Richter Scale shook the Bay Area including Candlestick Park, literally just moments before the first pitch.

I vividly remember this moment as I experienced a fear I had not known until that day.  Sure, I’d felt the earth shake many times.  So much so that I’d grown accustomed to not “ducking and covering”, but casually seeking a nearby doorway.  This one was different and as I reflect, there was nothing normal about our evening activities either.  We were just finishing an early dinner at 5 and I believe my brother and I were winning the battle to do our homework in front of the television so we could watch the game.  Totally unacceptable in our home.  Off in the distance we heard a rumble that was growing closer.  In the split second before the ground informed us of the source of the inexplicable sound, my brother and I looked to our parents for an answer.  As soon as the shaking began under our feet, we huddled in the doorway of the downstairs bathroom longer than the ground shook.  Those 15-30 seconds felt like an eternity!  The rest, as they say, is history.  We still had to do our homework and won the battle to complete it in front of the television watching earthquake coverage and catching first glimpses of our hometown in rubble.  Devastating to say the least.  In baseball news, game 3 was postponed and the A’s went on to sweep my Giants in four games.

All the way from Chicago, I share in the excitement of the Bay!  My fingers are crossed for another Battle of the Bay  – without the earthquake and A’s victory of course.  Let’s go Giants!!!

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

photo courtesy of The Harrises of Chicago

For which MLB team are you rooting?  Which ballpark is your favorite?

-nah

Leave a Reply

