Awkward Black Girl – Issa Rae

Issa Rae
source

I’m convinced that Stanford graduate Issa Rae shrunk herself, found her way to the place where my innermost thoughts and emotions reside, and wrote the scripts that comprise the web series The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl.  This show is everything to me!  For the longest, I’ve accepted that I’m awkward, not really knowing how to maneuver in certain situations, like passing a co-worker in the hallway for the umpteenth time that day.  Do I say hi again?!?  Or is averting my eyes to avoid eye contact sufficient?

I was hooked from season 1, episode 1, minute 1 when Issa’s character J was confronted with the awkward and familiar situation of repeatedly approaching stop signs with someone you know in the car adjacent to you.  And yes, I’ve tried all avoidance methods J demonstrates and proudly admit to being the queen of the dramatic slow down.

Issa Rae inspires me on many levels.  The honesty in her writing is unmatched, her creativity is fierce, her drive is relentless and her pursuit of realizing her dreams is inspiring.  Since its inception in 2011, the series has earned a Shorty Award for Best Web Show (a big deal!), has grown from 4 minute to 15 minute episodes, and garnered donations from numerous fans and super fan music producer Pharrell.

Thank you, Issa, for all that is ABG!  Catch up on all episodes of The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl.

-nah

Leave a Reply

