The Fighter

I first heard Gym Class Heroes’ new single The Fighter in the weeks prior to the Olympics because of its accompanying video featuring Olympian Gymnast John Orozco.  Immediately, I purchased the song and added it to my workout playlist.  Since, this song has become my power song getting me through some of the most challenging moments of my morning workouts.  I relish the feeling after completing a workout and enjoy the subsequent benefits, but during . . . ugh.  Some days it’s pure agony.  I have to force the activity of the moment to relinquish its stronghold on my mind to allow my mind to travel elsewhere.  Most of the time its through song.  This morning when pushing through the pushups with rows with the Gym Class Heroes cheering me on my mind was allowed to wander to a few fighters who inspire me.

Nelson Mandela

Harriet Tubman

Oscar Pistorius

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Susan B. Anthony

Civil Rights Demonstrators – high school students

Angela Davis

Toussaint L’Ouverture

Cesar Chavez

Civil Rights Demonstrators attacked by police dogs

Huey Newton, Bobby Seale

Geoffrey Canada

 

-nah

Leave a Reply

